All | Unique
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Families | Templates | Types | Subtypes | Universal Monster Rules


Three spears of obsidian energy skewer this cadaverous figure.

Despoiler CR 7

Source Seers of the Drowned City pg. 56
XP 3,200
CE Medium undead
Init +7; Senses darkvision 60 ft.; Perception +15


AC 20, touch 14, flat-footed 16 (+3 Dex, +1 dodge, +6 natural)
hp 85 (10d8+40)
Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +9
Immune undead traits


Speed 30 ft.
Melee 2 claws +13 (1d6+6 plus 1d6 negative energy and grab)
Ranged black shard +10 (4d6 negative energy)
Special Attacks black shards, embrace of darkness


Str 23, Dex 17, Con —, Int 12, Wis 14, Cha 19
Base Atk +7; CMB +13; CMD 27
Feats Combat Reflexes, Dodge, Improved Initiative, Lightning Reflexes, Mobility
Skills Climb +19, Intimidate +17, Knowledge (religion) +14, Perception +15, Stealth +16
Languages Common, Necril


Environment any land
Organization solitary, pair, or cult (3–6)
Treasure standard

Special Abilities

Black Shards (Ex) As a standard action, a despoiler can remove and throw a shard as a bolt of negative energy to a range of 80 feet, dealing 4d6 points of negative energy damage on a hit. A creature that takes damage from a black shard must succeed at a DC 19 Fortitude save or be staggered from the pain for 1d4 rounds. A despoiler can impale itself on a shard in this way to heal itself of 4d6 points of damage. Once a shard is used, it must be replenished via the despoiler’s embrace of darkness ability. The save DC is Charisma-based.

Embrace of Darkness (Su) If a despoiler pins a grappled creature, it deals 4d6 points of negative energy damage and staggers the victim for 1d3 rounds. When a despoiler uses this ability, it regrows a black shard (to a maximum of 3 black shards). A successful DC 19 Will save halves the damage and prevents the staggered condition and shard regrowth. The save DC is Charisma-based.


Created from the remains of good clerics, despoilers sometimes guard desecrated sacred sites.