Armor | Artifacts | Cursed Items | Intelligent Items | Potions/Oils | Rings | Rods | Staves | Weapons | Wondrous Items | Other

Belts | Body | Chest | Eyes | Feet | Hands | Head | Headband | Neck | Shoulders | Wrist | None/Other

Altars | Favors | Ioun Stones | Thrones

Necklace of Fireballs

Source Ultimate Equipment pg. 259, PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 524
Aura moderate evocation; CL 10th
Slot neck; Price 1,650 gp ( Type I), 2,700 gp ( Type II), 4,350 gp ( Type III), 5,400 gp ( Type IV), 5,850 gp ( Type V), 8,100 gp ( Type VI), 8,700 gp ( Type VII); Weight 1 lb.


This item appears to be a string or cluster of spherical beads, sometimes with the ends tied together to form a necklace. (It does not count as an item worn around the neck for the purpose of determining which of a character’s worn magic items is effective.) If a character holds it, however, all can see the strand as it really is—a golden chain from which hang a number of golden spheres. The spheres are detachable by the wearer (and only by the wearer), who can easily hurl one of them up to 70 feet. When a sphere arrives at the end of its trajectory, it detonates as a fireball spell (Reflex DC 14 half).

Spheres come in different strengths, ranging from those that deal 2d6 points of fire damage to those that deal 10d6. The price of a sphere is 150 gp for each die of damage it deals.

Type I121,650 gp
Type II1222,700 gp
Type III1244,350 gp
Type IV12245,400 gp
Type V12225,850 gp
Type VI12248,100 gp
Type VII122228,700 gp
Each necklace of fireballs contains a combination of spheres of various strengths. Some traditional combinations, designated types I through VII, are detailed above.

If the necklace is being worn or carried by a character who fails her saving throw against a magical fire attack, the item must make a saving throw as well (with a save bonus of +7). If the necklace fails to save, all its remaining spheres detonate simultaneously, often with regrettable consequences for the wearer.


Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, fireball; Cost 825 gp (Type I), 1,350 gp (Type II), 2,175 gp (Type III), 2,700 gp (Type IV), 2,925 gp (Type V), 4,050 gp (Type VI), 4,350 gp (Type VII)