Alchemist | Antipaladin | Arcanist | Barbarian | Barbarian (Unchained) | Bard | Bloodrager | Brawler | Cavalier | Cleric | Druid | Fighter | Gunslinger | Hunter | Inquisitor | Investigator | Kineticist | Magus | Medium | Mesmerist | Monk | Monk (Unchained) | Ninja | Occultist | Oracle | Paladin | Psychic | Ranger | Rogue | Rogue (Unchained) | Samurai | Shaman | Shifter | Skald | Slayer | Sorcerer | Spiritualist | Summoner | Summoner (Unchained) | Swashbuckler | Vigilante | Warpriest | Witch | Wizard
Companion | Drake | Eidolon | Eidolon (Unchained) | Familiar | Phantom
Adept | Aristocrat | Commoner | Expert | Warrior

Cavalier Class Details | Banners | Orders | Archetypes

Cavalier/Samurai Orders

Description Source: Advanced Player's Guide
At 1st level, a cavalier must pledge himself to a specific order. The order grants the cavalier a number of bonuses, class skills, and special abilities. In addition, each order includes a number of edicts that the cavalier must follow. If he violates any of these edicts, he loses the benefits from his order's challenge ability for 24 hours. The violation of an edict is subject to GM interpretation.

A cavalier cannot change his order without undertaking a lengthy process to dedicate himself to a new cause. When this choice is made, he immediately loses all of the benefits from his old order. He must then follow the edicts of his new order for one entire level without gaining any benefits from that order. Once accomplished, he gains all of the bonuses from his new order. Note that the names of these orders might vary depending upon the campaign setting or GM's preference.

Description Source: Ultimate Combat
The following orders can be chosen by both samurai and cavaliers, although the former are far more likely to do so. Samurai can also select any of the cavalier orders presented in the Pathfinder RPG Advanced Player's Guide.

Order of the First Law

Source People of the Sands pg. 21
Cavaliers belonging to the order of the First Law are dedicated to hunting down anyone practicing, preaching, or otherwise facilitating religion in Rahadoum.

Edicts: The cavalier must strive to protect atheists and all those who reject the gods. He must never have a patron deity or willingly serve agents of the divine. He must protect the common folk from suffering due to the actions of divine agents.

Challenge: Whenever an order of the First Law cavalier issues a challenge, each round that he makes an attack against the target of his challenge, he gains 1 temporary hit point on his turn. These temporary hit points last up to 1 hour. The number of temporary hit points gained per round increases by 1 for every 4 levels the cavalier possesses.

Skills: An order of the First Law cavalier adds Heal (Wis) and Knowledge (religion) (Int) to his list of class skills. An order of the First Law cavalier can attempt Knowledge (religion) skill checks untrained. If he has ranks in the skill, he receives a bonus on the check equal to 1/2 his cavalier level (minimum +1) when making checks to identify members of religious faiths or religious paraphernalia.

Order Abilities: A cavalier belonging to the order of the First Law gains the following abilities as he increases in level.

Rejection of Faith (Ex): At 2nd level, the cavalier must refuse all divine magic, including helpful effects or spells. As long as he has not benefited from divine magic in the past 24 hours, he receives a +2 morale bonus on one saving throw of his choice. Each day he can change the saving throw to which this bonus applies.

Threat of Reason (Ex): At 8th level, whenever the cavalier threatens a space occupied by a divine spellcaster, the spellcaster must add 4 to the DC of any concentration checks, dispel checks, or caster level checks she attempts.

Godslayer (Ex): At 15th level, whenever the cavalier makes a melee attack against the target of his challenge and that target is a divine spellcaster, the cavalier gains a bonus on attack and damage rolls equal to his Charisma modifier. This damage is multiplied on a critical hit.